There’s a Worm in my Apple!!

This article may Not focus on cooking but it sure poses a few questions on ingredient choice, sustainability, health and well-being. Cooking Pot the iPhone App provides quick and easy, healthy and Delicious recipe options every time! Why not combine the 2??

 

I’ve had two incredibly opposing experiences in just one day. The first wasn’t so positive and made me consider the quality of our food and where it comes from and more specifically the amount of sugar we consume. As a result of a very rare craving I went out and bought run-of-the-mill peanut butter not from an Organic Grocers where you grind your own peanuts if you wish; and was made a sandwich. I came running into the kitchen questioning how much sugar was sprinkled on the sandwich. I don’t particularly like sugar on my peanut butter sandwiches but prefer honey instead.

 

To my amazement I was told that nothing but the peanut butter I bought was on my sandwich! Wow!! this sandwich was so Sweet! Next I was alarmed and proceeded to read the label. I had bought the same brand of peanut butter I had bought but a few years ago so didn’t bother reading the label. I remember the sugar content being somewhere between 5-7%.

 

The sugar content now had more than doubled to over 14%!! No wonder my peanut butter sandwich tasted so sweet.

 

My second experience left me jumping for Joy! I went to some Organic Farmer’s Markets and got some 2nds apples for baking. I didn’t care that the apple didn’t look perfect and had some spots and dots. They just smelt so good, more than good. I tucked in and had almost eaten the whole apple when well and behold, there was a Worm!! A very healthy looking worm! They’re very fast when they want to be.

 

First I was shocked and checked if I had bitten into anything else. Thankfully No! Then I was filled with joy!! This was something I hadn’t experienced since I was a child on a farm sneaking fruit, peas and anything that was edible. This was wonderful. I had just munched a REAL Apple!!

 

It was a very strange day and I probably over analysed it because I went and read all the labels on everything in my pantry and some things were trashed. I decided to taste-test a few things that I hadn’t eaten for a very long time. The first was canned soup and the second was a bag of savoury biscuits. I do have a reaction to these things if I eat too much.

 

The canned soup tasted like salty artificial flavours and the savoury biscuits were the same. So what are we being spoon fed? This makes me question the quality of our food. Do we even register when additives and sugar are increased especially if we buy the same product week in week out? Do we care?

 

OK so it’s a lot easier for me. I’ll suffer from migraines for a while and if I have enough other symptoms come into play. It takes about 2 days to flush out with a lot of filtered non-fluoridated water. End of story until next time. It must be a lot harder if there are no symptoms.

 

So where does our food come from? Do you know your local dairy and have you visited to look at what conditions the animals are kept in and what they are fed. Where do you get your eggs? What about fruit and vegetables? Do some come from your own garden or do you know the farmers who grow what you eat? These are some of the questions worth asking. Remember, it’s what you do that counts.

 

Please leave your comments.

 

My next post will contain some local Farmer’s Markets info and where to source some real food. Please leave some information about your local area Farmers Markets and let’s build a global network!!

 

If you’ve sourced some delicious ingredients let Cooking Pot App help you cook them!!

Download it here https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/cookingpot/id586052832?mt=8

 

 

One thought on “There’s a Worm in my Apple!!

  1. Very thought-provoking! I hadn’t thought about the *positives* of finding a live, healthy worm in my food, but you are right- it does mean something very good! 🙂 It reminded me of when I was growing up, and eating fresh peaches, apricots, plums, pears, and apples right off the trees. And yes, there were sometimes worms. We just ate around them. 😉

    Today, I am much more afraid of the poisons than the bugs or worms.

    Joy @ Yesterfood.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

